Jenny Shain, Artist who Creates Only from Her Heart

Addicted to Indoor Plumbing…

Let’s just admit it folks… Americans are addicted to indoor plumbing. It’s the one thing that connects us all & brings us all together. So, we’re going to Ukraine soon. And once you get out of the city anywhere in Eastern Europe, you’re screwed. So, I’m a little concerned. When I was in Uganda I had a pot for nighttime emergencies. I just knew one of those huge snakes was going to be waiting for me in that outhouse. *He’s still thinking about the one that got away, waiting with an evil grin, his whole life for me to come back*

It’s just a little awkward. The whole outhouse thing. Should I hold it for hours & hours on end til I get back into the city? NO. I’m going to, once again, dive into (not the outhouse, that would be gross) the culture. I’m going to SMILE and take that outhouse on with a ferocious- you’re not going to get me this time!- attitude. I’m not going to let it get the best of me. Just my poop. Which brings me to another thing… If you are traveling in Eastern Europe, BRING YOUR OWN TOILET PAPER! The squatty potties do NOT come with TP. And if you are lucky, you will get that brown kind that feels like sandpaper. For real.

I’m sure you’re shocked at how severely underrepresented these issues have been in the missions & travel world. I think it’s time we brought the potties, or lack of, into the light. I LOVE indoor plumbing! always have. That’s just who I am. But, I’m going to sacrifice this FANTASTIC luxury–WOW it’s GREAT, I really can’t say enough about it!– for the sake of missions. Squatty Potties for Jesus!

3 responses

  1. We are *very* potty-focused at our house these days, so we’re dying to hear more, of course.

    And I can second-handedly second the Eastern European problem… I’ve heard lots of stories about the train from Budapest to Cluj and the need for Your-Own-Roll from my brother- and sister-in-law. And a flashlight would be nice, too.

    June 29, 2007 at 8:43 am

  2. Mego

    That is sooo funny!! Last year in Peru.. i would sometimes have to go but they didn’t have outhouses sometimes. It was usually a stall with a hole in the ground. Thankfully at the hotels we had normal toilets

    June 29, 2007 at 12:51 pm

  3. jennyfs

    Renae–
    FLASHLIGHT! GREAT IDEA. I just bought one for camp, & it has a belt attchment-PERFECT. THX!

    MEGO!
    Yeah, those Squatty Holes are pretty scary! I say, GO FOR IT! You’ve got to emmerse yourself in the culture at some point, it might as well be at the hole!
    FEARLESS POTTYING!!! Just HOLD your breath!

    June 29, 2007 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

